Disney ist besser. Smut or no smut.

I'm kind of a bums-people-out kind of person now a days. And not because of other people's misery, but because of my own, which makes it annoying and therefore uninteresting. To myself and others.

Something I could talk about today is my sudden re-appreciation of old Disney flicks.
Of course, when I say "old", I mean pre-2000's. I watched The Little Mermaid the other day, and then I watched Mulan, which has to be one of the best movies ever.
One thing that kind of disappointed me, as an adult watching movies I liked as a kid, was how short they are. They never have time to truly develop any kind of emotional bond between the characters, because they barely have time to fit a plot into their timeline.
Mulan is great either way, but The Little Mermaid definitely came up short. How am I supposed to root for that couple? o.o It's so superficial it makes me cringe.

Movies aren't supposed to show the reality of most relationships, especially not Disney movies!
Disney makes fairytales! Fairytales exist to make us feel good about ourselves, by smushing in (I make up words cuz I'm awesome) friendly messages, like: love is about what's on the inside, not about how pretty you and your voice are.

I did say that Mulan is awesome, right? But when I said that I didn't mean the live action movie from 2009, called Hua Mulan. That movies sucks. Stay clear!

By looking at the cover of the DVD you may think it looks interesting. But then you watch it.. and it sucks.
That was my short-short review of Hua Mulan.


 



Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback



RSS 2.0