White Cat Review. (finally)

Hire me.

I work hard.
I'm sweet.
I'm never late...
Actually, I'm super anal (hey there~) when it comes to pretty much everything.. which is a good thing for a .. working person.. (I was about to say working girl... would've been SO inappropriate in that context.. phew)

I don't clean my room that often though.
Is that bad?

---------------

TO THE POINT! (my new favourite phrase it seems)

---------------

 

I read the first page...

And I loved it.

 

I read the rest of the book as well, of course. Don't misunderstand me.

I'm just saying: This book is awesome from the get-go.

 

When a main character says to me: "I killed someone, and no one knows why. Not you... Certainly not me." I get chills!

That's the kind of book that I've been looking for for a long time.

 

So it's basically about this guy, Cassel. He's a member of a curse worker family, but he's not one himself. This leads to him feeling left outside of a lot of things family related, but it turns out his brothers are keeping something from him that he really should know...


These "curse workers" mentioned in the book, exist all over the world. And because of what they can do (some are death workers for example, but most of them are luck workers) and because the public are scared of them, their powers are illegal. The only way they can use their powers is if they touch someone with their hands (some can use their feet apparently), which is why they walk around in gloves.

 

I just love the entire concept of curse workers!

What makes it even better is that a lot of workers wind up in criminal organizations, working cons and other worse things.. Cassel is an "excellent" con man.

If you knew me, you'd know that I love stories about con artists. Not that I agree with what they do for a living, but reading about them is simply riveting.

 

I have to mention something negative.. of course. (I am me)

The finale is kind of childish. The con job that Cassel planned was a complete mess, and it made me think: was he really raised in a con family? He's so.. awkward.

Actually, there were a lot of scenes in the book where I came to that same conclusion.

But on the other hand, this could be a conscious choice by the author. Maybe she wants him to be a little bit naive and awkward, so that he can evolve throughout the series.

I can't wait to find out.

 

This is the first Holly Black book I've read.

First impression:

EPIC SKILLZ!

(excellent use of language, Maxie, as always)

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback



RSS 2.0